Databases

The Cranston Public Library does not add unsolicited websites or resources to our website.

Scholarly resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.

Web portal providing access to over 50,000 hours of public television and radio programming aired over the past 70 years.  The American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the WGBH Educational Foundation to coordinate a national effort to preserve at-risk public media before its content is lost to posterity.

Access books, video tutorials, and lesson files for learning digital design software, office applications, and web coding skills. This resource is available from inside the library only. 

Discover your family history and start your family tree. Try free and access billions of genealogy records including Census, SSDI & Military records. May only be used within the library, not available from home.

Rhode Island’s Statewide Reference Resource Center.

Find contact information and more about 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and more.

Get the App:  iOS 

 Accurate, authoritative and up-to-date auto service and repair information. AutoMate features content from the original equipment manufacturers, including step-by-step repair procedures with supporting images, maintenance schedules, and diagnostic trouble codes so users can accurately diagnose, repair and maintain their vehicle.

Biography Reference Center contains biographical full text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.

Designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.

Online archive featuring keyword searchable local history collections. Includes Cranston Herald and other historic newspapers from 1885-1977. Additional newspaper archives from 1977-2016 are available separately from inside the library only. Powered by Advantage Preservation and funded by the Champlin Foundation.

Digital archive of Cranston Herald and other historic local newspapers from 1977-2016. Must be accessed from inside the library. Additional archives from 1885-1977 available separatelyPowered by Advantage Preservation and funded by the Champlin Foundation.

DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Free DMV practice tests for every state. Includes car, motorcycle, and commercial driving license practice tests and manuals. 

Search all the databases in the EBSCOhost collection.  

Get the App: iOS / Android

Provides access to education literature and resources included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Contains more than 1,243,000 records and links to more than 224,000 full-text documents from ERIC.

Designed with students and educators in mind, Explora provides a safe, trustworthy environment for students to look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects or homework.

Foundation Directory Online (FDO) provides the most comprehensive and accurate information on U.S. grantmakers and their funding activities. Updated weekly. Note: Access to the Foundation Directory Online is limited to the Central Library Reference Department.  Please see a staff member at the Reference Desk for assistance.

Free, self-guided courses to help you learn the essential skills needed to live and work in the 21st century.  From Microsoft Office and email to reading, math, and more, GCFLearnFree.org offers more than 180 topics, including more than 2,000 lessons, 800+ videos, and 55+ interactives and games, completely free. 

A comprehensive full text history reference database. Features full text for more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books from leading history publishers as well as full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals. The database also contains more than 61,100 historical documents, 66,000 biographies of historical figures, 110,200 historical photos and maps and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Kanopy offers a broad selection of more than 30,000 films including quality documentaries, feature films, foreign language films and training videos from producers including PBS, BBC, The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses and thousands of independent filmmakers. Films can be streamed via cranstonlibrary.kanopy.com or by downloading the Kanopy mobile app for iOS, Android, AppleTV, Roku or Chromecast.

Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.

Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. It combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

Get the App: iOS / Android

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Have you read everything by your favorite author? Use Author Read-alikes to locate other authors and titles of interest or search for fiction by topic. NoveList also includes full-text searchable book reviews, annotations, genre- and theme-based book lists, award lists, and book discussion guides.

The largest current English dictionaries and thesaurus, as well as helpful tips on grammar, usage, spelling, and more.

Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

PLOS is a nonprofit open access scientific publishing project aimed at creating a library of open access journals and other scientific literature under an open content license.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

Database of RI Historical Cemeteries maintained by the RI Historical Cemeteries Commission.

The RI Resource Hub is a single place for Rhode Island adults to access high quality resources from WayToGoRI, AskRI, EmployRI, NetworkRI, adult education classes from RIDE, digital literacy training from BBRI, and carefully curated web resources. 

Archive of the Bridge, the Pawtuxet Village Association's official newsletter from 1986 - present.  Search articles and photos documenting the history of the Pawtuxet Village National Historic District. 

Tutor.com provides on-demand tutoring, homework help, test preparation and writing assistance for students in grades K-12 in over 40 subjects. No appointment is needed. Tutors are available 2:00pm – 10:00pm. You can also use their practice quizzes and SkillsCenter Resource Library to study 24/7. Login from anywhere using your Cranston Public Library card.

Get the App: iOS / Android

The World Book eBooks platform includes a rich library of beautifully illustrated titles for all ages and interests. Includes graphic novel-style nonfiction, stories, embedded videos, audio, and games.

Get the app: iOS / Android

The World Book web site offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.